The Moon- A Poem

I’ve always loved the moon
I would spend nights sprawled out, my back pressed to the black concrete of the road, warmth from the day radiating into every vertebrae of my spine
Watching
Always just watching
As each night it grew a little more bright
Until the entire sky was lit up in an ethereal explosion.
As I lay there on that ground with only the quiet sound of my heart beating through my body in the silence of the night
I would think about running wild,
The breeze tangling my hair as it flew back behind me,
my feet endlessly chasing.
But I am just a human
And no amount of running will keep it with me.
So I’ve learned to wait for the night,
To listen for its celestial call
Before dancing to its lunar song.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

